TOP Go to the main content section

Taipei Travel

Xinbeitou Station 新北投車站

Anchor point

Sunday:10:00 - 18:00




Its origin can be traced back to the days when Taiwan was under Japanese rule. The Xinbeitou branch line was constructed in order to utilize the hot spring for tourism development. Later, the "Xinbeitou Chengjiangsuo (railway stop)" was established and renamed as "Xinbeitou Yi (station)" in 1916 (Taisho 5). The name of the place, Xinbeitou, was thus created. In 1988, because of the suspension of the Beidan Line, the station body was removed and relocated to Taiwan Folk Village in Changhua.

In 2003, the Taipei City Government and non-governmental organizations started striving to bring the station back since people began to notice the significance of cultural assets preservation. After people’s persistent efforts, Ri Rong Assets Co., Ltd. was touched by the citizens’ passion and expectations for the return of the station and donated Xinbeitou Station to the Department of Cultural Affairs of Taipei City Government for free.

In 2016, the reassembly location of the station was determined to be near the original site in Qixing Park. In April 2017, the restoration was finished and the station was open to the public again.


Historic Sites Art and Cultural Centers
Suggested Months for Visiting
All year
Phone Number
No. 1, Qixing St., Beitou Dist., Taipei City Taiwan, R.O.C

Related Links

Opening Hours

Sunday10:00 - 18:00
MondayOff day
Tuesday10:00 - 18:00
Wednesday10:00 - 18:00
Thursday10:00 - 18:00
Friday10:00 - 18:00
Saturday10:00 - 18:00

Charge / Ticket

Admission is free

Services & Facilities

  • Shopping
  • Toilets


Nearby MRT

R Tamsui-Xinyi Line Xinbeitou

R Tamsui-Xinyi Line Beitou

Instagram @taipeitravel


Nearby Attractions

More Attractions